Skip to main content Accessibility Feedback


A photo of JackA photo of JackA photo of JackA photo of JackA photo of JackA photo of JackA photo of JackA photo of JackA photo of JackA photo of JackA photo of Jack
Size: Medium
Age: Adult
Gender: Male
Breeds: Cattle Dog, Pit Bull Terrier
Unknown with Cats

Fill out an adoption form

Hello there!
My name is Jack (I respond better to Goose because I’m often called a silly goose). I am a 5ish year old goofball coming in around 60 lbs. My passions include snacks, food, meals, my bed, cruising in the car, and treats. I am a friendly guy to all I meet. Dogs and people included. I can be a little timid but give me a minute and my personality will shine right through. I currently live with a really great family that has 2 kids ages 8 and 12 and a dog-kid too!

Due to my rough life prior to fostering, I need predictable meal times. I don’t have issues with aggression or anything, I just will follow you around every single place you go and stare intensely at you until you feed me. Some might call it awkward. I might occasionally try counter surfing too (at this time I’ve only just taken peeks at the counter)…so I do need some supervision.

I am mostly a low key guy. I like a casual stroll around the block, some wrestling with my dog sister. I am cool with time in the crate, I might whine a bit for 5 ish minutes but then I settle down. I am not super wild about time outdoors. I was ditched outside for far too long. I’ve been doing better with enjoying yard time but I much prefer indoors with my bed. I am very gentle considering how much I love food, non-destructive, and pretty much house trained (these humans have missed my cues 2 times, I forgave them).

All things considered and considering the shape I was in (see my old pictures), I am a good guy who deserves a nice life. I am a sweet boy with spurts of spunk and shenanigans. I don’t know many commands but I assure you I will guess every trick I can think of if it’ll get me that treat. I love having a dog to hang with and my human brothers are cool too. It seems like 10+ would probably be ideal because I can hit up the short ones for snacks too often. I just need breakfast and dinner, a stroll around the block, a soft bed, and love. Oh, and SNACKS!

This guy is the epitome of “dog rescue.” Jack was found by a woman driving down a road in rural Mississippi - she noticed a dog crate on the side of the road and then realized there was a dog half in and half out of it just lying there.  She slowed down, turned around and went back and made a call for help. One of our friends in the area went and grabbed him and brought him right to the vet (see some of the photos); it was very apparent he had been neglected.  He was covered in cuts and scars, nails were so long he could barely walk, definitely underweight. 

Name: Jack
Breed: Cattle Dog Mix
Sex: Male
Age: 5 years  (estimated)
Weight: 50 lbs
Spayed/Neutered: Yes
Vaccinations: Up to date
Heartworm: Negative on recent testing
Microchipped: Yes

Good with Children: Over 12
Good with Dogs: Yes
Good with Cats: Unknown

Adoption Fee: $450.00

Location of dog currently:  New England


Paws New England is a foster-based rescue - our dogs reside in various locations throughout the south and New England.  

Adoption donations cover pre-adoption vet costs (including vaccinations, spay/neuter when age appropriate, and heartworm testing/treatment when necessary), a microchip, and transportation to New England if necessary.

Donations for our young, healthy puppies and dogs support their fellow canines of advanced age or suffering from injuries and abuse whose donations are reduced but whose veterinary costs are typically much higher. We appreciate your understanding that your newly adopted dog will help others in need.